‘Coders at work’ an Ethiopian Context   2 comments


This last weekend I thought of reviewing the e-books I had collected and I came across one that caught my attention. It is a book ‘Coders at work’ which has a collection of interviews with programmers of our time. Peter Seibel wrote it and I tried to see it in Ethiopian context.

First of all I loved it, I have to be honest. It is not too technical but also it’s some how geeky for those who want to know about the geeks. Most of the questions asked were about their life in relation to programming. The author is also, as presented in the book, a writer turned in to a programmer or programmer turned in to writer. Which ever the case is that is what I want to talk about. It is easy to find top programmers who have not taken programming lessons at school. Most of the programmers who were interviewed tell that same story.
They tell us they started programming in high school, they graduated from college in social fields and so on. If I have to say about myself first, I never took a single computer course when I was in high school. Luckily, I had a PC at home since I freshman, an older brother who showed me how to do simple programing. In addition to this, I took three programing courses in college. I remember that I wrote about Java programing in my second year college English essay, which was too odd for my classmates to write about programing.
I can say almost all programmers I know here in Ethiopia are mostly from computer science, electrical and computer engineering fields or information technology/system graduates. If there is anyone from another field please forgive me for this. Most of us get to it just by chance I can say. It starts from the way we choose our field of specialization in campus. It used to be a random placement which didn’t consider your interest but your grade. I am sure that I would have continued with my education if I were in Civil Engineering department and I would have been a resident engineer at some site or  🙂 …. I think i shouldn’t say more on this; while I was writing this, I heard that there is an exhibition of Construction and related technologies.
Getting back to my point, what I am trying to say is programing as a profession is picked here just by chance. The probability of finding someone from different field coming to programing as a profession is almost null. I can’t explain what I do for elderly exactly, I can only say I work with computers. I can’t tell them that I build a software because they feel that the software is a built in thing that costs nothing, so I make no money out of it.
It is clear that if you buy a pc here, you will find all the things installed on it; Windows, Office may be games and so on. No one feels that each of these would cost an X amount of money, which in turn means that there is some one behind it building it. It would have given for the kids an addition to their wish list of what the want to become when they grow up. It is open for discussion for those of you who are curious about the issue, have your say please.

Posted May 9, 2011 by Behailu S. in Uncategorized

2 responses to “‘Coders at work’ an Ethiopian Context

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You can visit http://www.codersatwork.com/ for more information about the book.

  2. Good point. some of us are still struggling with the idea of a PC not coming with “everything” installed in it. lol

Leave a Reply

